MCT oil for quick energy?

(Jamie) #1

With my limited understanding of how these things work, I’m wondering if MCT oil can be used for quick energy on a long ride the way sugar gels are used by carbies?

IE: could you mix up a coconut oil/MCT oil mixture to use as an energy gel?

(Jeramy Koval) #2

I’m not a doctor or trainer so take this for what it’s worth. :slightly_smiling_face:

Short answer is no, it won’t have the same effect as fast acting carbs. I believe in the 20 net carb rule when on keto but only on my sedentary days. When I plan to hit the gym hard, go mountain biking or a long ride on my road bike I still use fast acting carbs. I have about 10-15g pre workout about 30min beforehand. I might have another 10-15 during and/or after depending on how I feel and how long I’m active. Usually some diluted Gatorade or Hammer Heed.

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #3

Short answer is maybe. Longer answer depends on what exactly you mean by ‘quick’: 1-30 minutes, probably not, but 30-60 minutes probably yes. For how long? Depends how much you ingest and at what intervals.

semi pertinent: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBgQmVt00R8
pertinent: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--L6r18IJig
most pertinent: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z75uJP5pqB0

For example. Each morning I make what I call a ‘true keto’ coffee which contains a mix of fats and proteins matching my current macro ratios. The mix includes both MCT, coconut oil, ghee and whipping cream. The MCT is in there to give me a ‘quick and short term’ energy boost and ignite the day’s fat burn, which it does from about 30-60 minutes. The other fats are in there to take over slowly from 60 minutes as the MCT gets burned out.