Macro Ratios for Moderate Weight Lifting

(Ryan Dunnion) #1

I am fairly new to lifting. I’ve been doing it about 2 months, 5 reps by 5 sets, with 3 exercises a session, 3 days a week. What carb, fat, protein ratio should I use. What amount of carbs should I eat? I am 6’1", 263 lbs, 45 years old, and work a desk job. I should also mention I am a type 2 diabetic.

It’s not about ratios… You need enough protein and proper energy intake… I could do my workouts (a bit less than you as I need more time to regenerate, it seems. I have 2 a week, 3 reps, 5-6 exercises, I totally ignore legs because I can) with 2:1 and 1:2 fat:protein alike (though I prefer 1:1, it’s mostly taste and what I can afford). Main thing to get enough protein and energy and for me, at the right time, after exercise, not before, it’s individual.
Carbs is easy, I keep it as low as I comfortably can, it’s 1-2% on a good day… But some people say they need a little more around workouts. I don’t.

No one can guess your “ideal” energy intake just from the stats I fear. What if you just eat very low-carb food and as much as you need for a nice satiation? I almost always do that (there are times when it just doesn’t give the right amount of food, troublesome times, I usually change food choices or timing then) and my macros usually automatically are good enough except I don’t lose fat but it’s harder for me at 165lbs… I would expect some nice paced automatic fat-loss in your case if you eat the right food!

I must say I don’t know what a type 2 diabetic should do differently… But adequate protein is a good idea for everyone…? And everyone needs the right amount of energy. You have enough extra fat to provide a nice amount of energy every day but there are limits, eating too little still would be bad. But exact numbers? No idea. You probably should experiment or let your macros fall wherever they want…

But surely some others will be more concrete and helpful! Good luck!