Losing body fat?

(Courtney) #1

Hello!

I am new to the “carnivore” lifestyle. I started on 1/28/22, almost exactly two weeks ago. I am doing a transformation challenge at my gym to see who can lower their body fat percentage the most, and on 1/28/22 they took a scan of my body fat, weight, muscle, and fat pounds.
I also have had my whole life awful stomach/digestion issues. (GERD, Celiac Sensitivities (I carry the gene for celiac disease and could have very well adapted to have that over the years of eating), bad acid reflux, and gall bladder issues.
I’m trying carnivore not only for the body fat loss challenge, but also to see how much better my body can feel eating this way. (I was always sick when I ate before)

So far, two weeks in, I feel great mentally, and physically in my stomach. Performance wise though, I feel very weak in the gym, and I have not only lost what seems like muscle, but also a lot of my stamina.

I’m getting nervous that the weight I have lost in the last two weeks has been a lot of muscle and not a lot of fat. (Which is not good in my opinion, I don’t want to lose muscle at a fast pace, and not lose fat pounds)

I’m a 5’2” female, 25 years old.
Beginning marks: 149.5 lbs, 29.3% body fat, 58.9 lbs muscle, 43.7 lbs fat.
2 weeks in: 142.3 lbs (dont test the rest of the info for another two weeks)

Is it common to feel very weak only during workouts? And is it common for my stamina to decrease a lot?

(Allie) #2

Yes to both. You’re asking your body to completely change the way it operates and that takes time to adapt to. Keep on top of electrolytes, add plenty of salt to your food.

(Robin) #3

Welcome and good job! I would ask how many calories you are eating. We don’t focus strongly on calories in keto because they tend to decrease as we make the dietary changes anyway. But make sure you are eating enough. Very important.
I personally didn’t feel tired in the beginning but many do. So it will likely pass.