Levels?

Okay so I’m a newbie, (obviously) & I use urine strips to test my levels. Basically since I started testing my levels they’ve been consistently high. Like between 8 & 16+. It seems like I’ve read the whole internet by now but I have so many questions.
1.) Why are my levels so high?
2.) Am I at risk for ketoacidosis because of this?
3.) What can I do to lower my levels without dropping out of ketosis?
4.) Should I be testing my blood sugar? (I’m not diabetic)

I’ve felt perfectly fine but minor paranoia is happening cause I don’t want to drop dead or something. #Halp

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #2

Urine test strips are measuring wasted ketones (primarily acetoacetate). As a newbie you can expect to excrete and exhale lots of ketones simply because the cells and organs of your body don’t know what to do with it yet and your liver overproduces it. Don’t worry. Lots of folks think urine strips are totally useless. I don’t, but their usefulness is limited. Unless you have diabetes you are at no risk of ketoacidosis.

Thank you! :slightly_smiling_face::raised_hands:

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4
  1. You don’t actually know how high your ketones really are, because of inherent inaccuracy of the strips, for one thing.

2. If you are a Type I diabetic, then yes, but you already knew that. If you are not a Type I diabetic, then as long as your pancreas continues to make insulin, you will be fine.