Leg Of Lamb, How To Roast It?

(Sophie) #1

I’m new to the lambi-kins thing. We don’t really see much of it for sale in my neck of the woods and if we do, it’s ridiculously priced. I have been seeing a few cuts at the local Sam’s recently and yesterday we picked up a boneless roast (about 4lbs from New Zealand) that I thought I’d cook tonight. I haven’t done one before but I’m sure it can’t be that difficult, can it? I guess peeps use fresh rosemary? I’ve got 3 big bushes of that. Not sure what temps to roast it or for how long though. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

(KetoDrew) #2

Hey JustPeachy,

I just smoked some lamb last night for dinner. My marinade for lamb usually consists of the following:

All these “measurements” I just tend to eyeball… You really can’t go wrong.

Wet Ingredients:
Mustard (Base Moisture) (1/2 cup?)
Olive Oil (1/4 cup?)
Worcestershire Sauce (Just a touch - Maybe a tablespoon)

Dry:
Garlic Minced to taste
Rosemary Minced to taste
Some Sage
Salt & Pepper

Wrap it in some saran wrap stuff and let it sit for several hours or until tomorrow.

Smoking I do at @225F until inside is 140F… roasting I’d probably do somewhat the same, but at the end maybe toss on the broiler to give the top of it a little bit of a crisp :-).

HTH!

(Barbara Greenwood) #3

By way of preparation - poke some holes in the joint with the tip of a sharp knife and push some of your rosemary in to the slits. If you have garlic, slice up a couple of cloves and distribute them among similar slits. Classic combination!!

I am far from being an expert roaster, on the rare occasion I do it, I google for temperatures and times. It’s usually so much per pound of weight plus a bit.

(Sophie) #4

Thanks! I’d love to smoke it but my smoker is wood fired and I don’t have any green wood currently. :frowning_face:
Your rub sounds interesting and eyeballing is just my style of cooking! :grin: