Ketones without Keto dieting?

(Jillian M. Ross) #1

I’ve been doing a Ketogenic diet for a few years, and love it. My husband has never tried it or been interested. He eats whatever he wants. Yesterday when I was checking my ketone levels he wanted me to stick his finger just out of curiosity. My levels were at 2.2 and I assumed his would be zero (Being that he eats whatever he wants). Um, his reading was at 0.6, why is that? Can a person be in Ketosis without even being on a low carb diet. Honestly, it kind of makes me a little skeptical of my blood monitor. I mean if I don’t have enough fat in my body my readings are down that low. I’ve worked so hard to eat right and stay in ketosis and this guy does nothing and gets a reading. It’s very frustrating, makes me want to give up, but I won’t!! Does anyone know what’s going on???

I look forward to reading comments to your question! I had something similar happen to me and my hubby, but I was using a $40 ketone breath meter which I returned because I questioned its accuracy. I may now test my hubbys blood on my blood meter and see what those results are. He eats an abundance of carbs every day…chips, mac and cheese, pot pies, cookies, cakes, etc… Very fruatrating to think THAT could yield ketones in the blood for my hubby and not me!!!

LilJill: Is your husband fit and active? Someone who eats “whatever they want” but also have a strong metabolism and active lifestyle can burn up those carbs and still be in a deficit – and be in some level of ketosis.

In the same breath someone doing paleo or Whole30 can still be in ketosis even if they’re upwards 100-200 carbs a day if those being depleted.

It’ll be less ketosis, but still ketosis.

At least that’s my understanding!

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4