Ketones vs Blood Sugar

The back story: I have been eating Keto since August 2015. When I indulge it’s with Keto treats. Last night I ate quite a bit - all keto - but also within my macro ranges 1998 Calories, 12 g Carbs, 187 g Fat and 57g Protein. This morning my fasting blood sugar was 97 and my ketones were 0.2. At the end of today my 2 hour postprandial blood sugar was 90 and my ketones were 0.6. I don’t understand.

1. Did I just eat too much last night and the excess protein kicked me out of ketosis? Then why would my blood sugar still be good?
  2. Am I really fat adjusted and don’t require high ketones? (I have never been above 0.6)
  3. Am I eating too much all the time and therefore can never get higher in my ketones? I didn’t think 1998 Calories was too much. I weigh 200 lbs and am a 6’1" male and run 20-25 miles a week and train 3 times weekly.
  4. Can someone have a low blood sugar (under 100) and not be in ketosis?
  5. Could my Precision Xtra be off?
  6. What is the coorelation between blood sugar and ketones? I assumed the lower the blood sugar, the higher the ketones.

(Liz) #2

I could be way wrong… but… I honestly don’t think you eat enough. In fat…or protein. You may not have high ketone readings bc you aren’t giving your body enough fuel.
Your blood sugar can be high in the morning bc of the increase in cortisol to wake you up. OR… I kind of wonder if your body stress level is high from all the running and training without proper refueling.
Are you logging your food ? I assume you are since you were so precise with your numbers.
If those are truly accurate numbers, up your fat and maybe up your protein as well but fat the most. Carbs look great.
These are just ideas and suggestions. Hope they help.

(Richard Morris) #3

Ketones are usually lower in the morning and higher in the evening. I’ve never seen a satisfactory explanation why that is so … but it be…

My normal range last year was 0.4 - 0.8 unless I fasted and exercised.