Ketones higher then glucose

Hello today is first time that my ketones were higher than my glucose. Glucose 3 mmols ketones 4.3 mmols. I done 24 hour fast. I can’t even believe it’s possible but I’m pleased. Anyone else experience this?

Normal if you’re fasting, but don’t get sucked into the chasing the ketones addiction either, the number is meaningless unless you’re doing keto for medical / disease management reasons.

Do you feel ok? I’d say I’d be popping glucose tabs if I were down that low, but I’d probably have passed out already.

I feel absolutely fine thank you. I believe that. Gluconeogenesis prevents my glucose drop too much. But I’m not diabetic. I decided to end the fast after 24 hours.

I am aware of that but I’m trying to maintain my insulin sensitivity. Im checking purely as I am new to fasting and want to know how my body reacts during this process. Thank you.

(Bob M) #5

3 = 54 in US units. Not really that low for some people (lower than I’ve seen). If you’re not fasting, what is your “normal” level, say in the morning?

I think I got a 3.4 (glucose) while getting ketones above that (in the 4s), after 4.5 days fasting. I always found that fasting drove glucose down and ketones up. But I don’t get high ketones like that anymore.