Ketones from a low carb diet or from supplementation: pros and cons

ketones
research
exogenous

Hi All.

I’m a biologist by training and currently works in the field of nutrition, wellness and sport/performance monitoring. I’m a long term keto dieter and I believe that I know relatively well the scientific literature on the pros & cons of ketosis.

The question I have is whether causing ketosis through a very low carb diet still presents some advantages over a LCHF diet with carbs still low but not low enough to induce ketosis together with a supplementation of C8 MCT to keep blood levels of ketones high (i.e. ketones from supplementation and not from ketosis). This question because ketosis is still viewed by many as a metabolic state that the human body developed to survive long fasting periods and despite what we can read and see, ketosis has never been the main metabolic state of our ancestors, because of the availability of fruits and vegetables over long periods of the year in most places on Earth.

Of course ketosis presents well known advantages for “unhealthy” people, I will not list them here. However, the more I study (and practice) keto the more I think that for healthy people who practice regular exercise a keto diet may have more cons than pros than a LCHF diet composed of an amount of fruits and vegetables high enough that doesn’t allow ketosis but supplemented with a product such as C8 MCT to still benefit from the ketones. Any comment/advice in that regard?

(TJ Borden) #2

I’m probably not going to explain it as well as others can, and hopefully will, but here it goes.

The benefits of ketosis come from the process of you getting there, not by simply “having” ketones register. If your system isn’t actually producing them, then it’s not in a state to benefit. You can take exogenous keytones and register on a test as being in a state of ketosis, but without the absense of carbs, you’re just pissing them out and not using them for fuel.