Keto stuckness

(DC) #1

I am currently participating in a Bodenvy program. I’v done my initial round of CoolSculpting and now I’m doing a round of CoolToning. All the while on a strict KETO diet. I fast from 7:30pm until 1pm with a plant based protein shake at 11am. I eat mostly salads, steak and chicken. I have discovered a low carb pizza crust that I use yo make pizza every once in a while. In 4 weeks I have gone from 207 pounds to 194. During the last 2 weeks or so I have acquired a treadmill of which I walk 2.5 mph on incline number one for 25 minutes 4-5 days per week. My Ketones I measure daily are between 1.9 to 2.8. I have been alcoholic my whole life and I’ve been drinking straight vodka about 8 ounces per day for the last 10 years or so. I have recently cut that back to 6 ounces. I am beginning to understand that alcohol is not my friend. My nutritionalist from Bodenvy points out that I am not losing weight from my visceral fat area (behind my abdominal wall and around my organs). I have lost some at the beginning (like almost 2 liters), but I have become stuck. My fat around my belly has diminished but I want more…

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

Okay. First, if visceral fat is a problem, lose the alcohol entirely. That will help clear up the visceral fat in a couple of weeks. Don’t eat any sugar, either, especially anything with fructose in it. Glucose is bad enough, because of the insulin response, but the fructose (whether in table sugar or found on its own in food) has to be handled by the same liver pathway that handles alcohol. That pathway is easily overwhelmed, and when that happens, fat starts to build up in the liver and other organs.