Keto for 4 years maintaining now stall after vacation/injury

(Lisa) #1

Hi, I have been reading for a long time but never felt the need to put anything out there.

I am a 4 year keto success - I have a very small frame and on keto had an initial loss of 17# but then with maintenance floated back up to minus 12# which I was okay with .
I would occasionally have an off diet day and on vacation was very loose with my eating when away but would go on strict keto and be able to go back to my “okay” weight. I have been working out with both cardio and weights for the last 2 years – it did not make any difference on the scale but did tone me up so I looked better. This spring I went to Tuscany (yes I had pasta but not everyday and lot of wine ). When I came back I had in succession a series of three joint issues that made it impossible to work out at the gym. I have since had a steroid shot into my elbow and am working on PT (Egoscue) with slow but steady results. I have not, however resumed going to the gym. I have also in the last 2-3 months went into definite menopause (hot flashes, last cycle = 2 months + ago).
When I got back from Tuscany I was at my pre-keto weight. Despite going on my version of strict keto: no nuts/alcohol, only salad with greens/radish/cucumber as veggie. no keto deserts. Just basically eggs, meat, fats, a bit of heavy cream and the salads. 2months in there was no change. Then I did an egg fast x 3 days and lost 3# which came back a week after I had been on my normal “strict” keto.
Then I tried a one meal a day stint (BP coffee in am, broth midday and a generous dinner at around 5pm). I have been doing that for about 2 months. I have lost weight but only about 5 pounds. I have had 2 cauliflower pizza days, but other than that carbs have not been above 20.
I have reached a stall and am trying to find out what is the reason, I do add sweetner (sucralose) to drinks but that has never stalled me in the past.