Keto, exercise and age

Was talking to an older friend who is on Keto and she said the literally gained weight her first 6 months on keto until she joined the gym and started exercising. She said the thinks it’s because her older metabolism was so slow, it needed a boost that it wasn’t getting. The first month she exercised she alternated treadmill and exercise bike at a moderate pace 6 days a week for 30 minutes and lost 8 lbs. She’s consistently lost at least 1-2 lbs. a week in the past 6 months, and is down two pants sizes.

I got an unexpected windfall of $300 last week, so I’m thinking of joining the YouFit gym down the road, because if I’m not paying, I won’t exercise.

I was an exercise instructor and trained female body builders in my 20s, but now at 70 I actively avoid exercise. I didn’t have a car for 10 years, so I had to walk all the time and am living where I’m living now because it was within walking distance to shopping and has buses close by for the summer. I think my mind associates exercise with that time, which was very hard for me. Still, I can see that since I got my car in Jan. 2021, I feel much less fit. Of course, COVID lockdown didn’t help at all because so many things were closed.

How do you feel about the older metabolism theory? I’ve been on a lot of other diets, and found older people saying the same thing. Also, some said that after about 6 months of steady exercise, their metabolism increased dramatically.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

Dr. Stephen Phinney reports that in one of his studies, all the subjects lost 14 pounds of fat, and one woman was upset that she only lost half that much. A body composition scan showed that she, too, had lost 14 pounds of fat, like all the other women in the study, but had gained 7 pounds of lean mass.