Keto as a Social Justice Issue

(Stephanie Sablich) #1

I’m a student in an MSW program in Michigan. In one of my classes, we spent some time discussing food justice and injustice, food deserts, etc. Most people are aware that there are extreme health disparities in low-income and systemically oppressed racial and ethnic minority communities. Higher obesity rates, higher rates of diabetes, worse health outcomes across the board, lower life expectancy, etc.

We’re all here because we want to change our reality, right? We believe in this way of eating; we believe it is best for our health, our lifestyle, our functionality. How can we bring this way of eating to marginalized communities, or areas with high levels of food insecurity?

Forgive my finals-season ramblings. Just something on my mind, something I’d enjoy discussing with other ketoers.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

It’s been known for over a century that poor communities can experience obesity and metabolic disease from poor diet. Sugar and white flour are very cheap, compared to other foods, so it’s easy to fall into the obesogenic trap if you don’t have a large food budget. Dr. Noakes started a foundation to do exactly what you propose in marginalized communities in South Africa, and he has found that once you help people figure out how to get started on eating LCHF, it practically pays for itself, because they are no longer having to take time off work traveling to distant clinics to get their meds, and because they save money on the meds they no longer need!

(Dawn) #3

I can make the argument that eating Keto is just as affordable as junk food for lower income communities. Especially when you add in a successful fasting regiment. I cannot tell you how significantly my grocery bill has decreased since I stopped eating like a carb addicted pig. I am ashamed to say that I was the one who ate most of the food in the house and created the large grocery bill.