Just starting...need some reassurance

(Cindy Duncan) #1

I just started a keto diet the first week in January, I have never done it before. I have lost weight before with calorie restriction, so I have faith that works, just wanted to try something different this time.
I am logging my food, am sticking to 1200 calories, 75 g protein, 92 g of fat, and 18 net carbs. I guess since I have never done this before, I don’t have faith that it will work. My total goal is to lose 45 lbs, and break my carb addiction.
I don’t know what to expect from the scale, but so far I am confused. The first week I lost 6 lbs, gained 1 the next, and stayed the same this week. I have consistently been in ketosis according to test strips, and have not cheated.
The scale result is confusing, not what I expected. To gain??? And then not even lose it the next week??

I guess since I have no past experience with keto to base it on, I need some reassurance that this is going to work!!!

(Empress of the Unexpected) #2

Do not restrict calories on keto. Keep to under 20 carbs a day and eat when you are hungry. At first you lose water weight. It took me a few months to see real fat loss but I am approaching two years and the weight has stayed off. Also, 45 pounds is nothing. The less you have to lose, the longer it may take. But you are getting healthy in the process. I only had 25 to lose.

This is a good resource.

http://pwop.com/download/TheKetogenicDietInANutshell.pdf

(Full Metal KETO AF) #3

Welcome to the world of Ketogenic eating and the forum Cindy. KETO does work and I can testify to that. I lost 60 lbs over a year. Went from obese to a healthy weight, kicked my blooming diabetes to the curb. I am stable and at a healthy weight for my age and size, at the lower end of BMI calculations.