Is it ok to drink 1 fruit smoothie daily

(Susan Isaacson) #1

I just finished my breakfast. 4 slices of bacon and 1/2 avocado. Feeling satisfied.
Can I have a 12oz fruit smoothie late afternoon. Mine is made with yogurt and some milk? Total newbie, need assistance please.

(Jo) #2

How much and which fruits? I would replace the milk with heavy cream - less carbs, and read the label on the yogurt to figure out how many carbs are in there.

(icky) #3

No, I donā€™t think so :see_no_evil:

Can you put the ingredients in a food calculator and work out how many carbs it is all up?

Even a glass of milk is probably too much. Even without adding any fruit.

(Darlene Horsley) #4

I occasionally make them using 2 oz. of cream cheese, blueberries or raspberries and plain almond milk.
http://www.wickedstuffed.com/keto-recipes/low-carb-smoothies-shakes-with-5-net-carbs-or-less/

(Susan Isaacson) #5

My boyfriend who knows ā€œeverythingā€ Lol
He makes these in our Vita mix with banana,seedless grapes, rinsed and drained peaches before milk and yogurt.
Anyway, who has a good keto recipe for a smoothie. Besides fruit, yogurt, milk is there anything I should be added?

(Ron) #6

NO NO NO! All sugars. Your smart to look for new recipes.:+1:

(karen) #7

Google ā€œketo smoothiesā€ or ā€œlow carb smoothiesā€. Most smoothies are probably not the best use of your 20 carbs but itā€™s possible to make substitutions that will make them doable. Hereā€™s one with three net carbs.

(Susan Isaacson) #8

WOW!! Sounds delicious

(LeeAnn Brooks) #9

Iā€™ve done one with avacado and cocoa powder.

But most typical fruit smoothies are way too high in carbs.

May as well say goodbye to bananas. Thereā€™s really only a few things I really miss on Keto, but bananas top the list.

(TJ Borden) #10

I would take your recipe of:
Banana
Grapes
Peaches
Milk
Yogurt

Add heavy whipping cream (HWC), then take out the:
Banana
Grapes
Peaches
Milk
Yogurt

Whip with a stick blender and itā€™s delicious.