Introducing myself jrtx

(Joan ) #1

It is always a little awkward to jump in and start posting in a new community. I tend to lurk for a long time and then post a little here and there. Today, I thought I would jump in and introduce myself instead of lurking.
I have been dancing with keto/lchf for a couple of years. I haven’t committed to it really until late July of this year. I did go off in October because I was in India (rural villages) and had no choice in the food I was given. That experience really convinced me that I need to do this fully committed.
I have read quite a bit, and am almost through all the 2 keto dudes podcasts (love them!) but am still trying to figure out if I should be testing my blood -ketones or glucose.
Artificial sweeteners are a mystery too - which ones, why are some better than others, how do I know what they are by brand name, and how many are there really?
My personal story is that 25 years ago as a young healthy person I was told I had PCOS. After some research I knew it was a hormone issue and went to see an endocrinologist. His advice was to take up running and run 5 miles a day. My undiagnosed exercise induced asthma was an issue in my very hot and humid climate. Fast forward a few years, I married and we started a family. I gained 50 pounds in that pregnancy and could never lose it in spite of WW and other diets. The next pregnancy my OB tested me later in the pregnancy for GD and sure enough I had GD. My OB said that she suspects my weight gain in my 1st pregnancy was also due to undiagnosed GD. Third baby GD too. My follow ups post pregnancy never showed T2D. My OB was puzzled by my inability to lose the weight. “You were always so thin” and then suggest I eat only veggies. Well, my first thought was, kill me cause I couldn’t live only eating veggies. I love my cream sauces! That first baby is almost 18 and I am still carrying that weight. I feel best when doing keto, but still struggle with celebrations.