Interesting study of something that "causes" atherosclerosis (hint: it's not LDL)

(Bob M) #1

https://www.jci.org/articles/view/158788

The first part of the abstract:

A lot of the data was developed using mice, though. Never know how those transfer over to humans.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

It’s interesting, how all these things correlate. There is a strong correlation between diabetes and obesity. There is a strong correlation between diabetes and cardiovascular disease and between obesity and cardiovascular disease, and there is a strong correlation between mental illness and obesity, and between diabetes and mental illness. In fact, it seems there are correlations between all of the chronic diseases from which people suffer, today, even though there are always people with A who don’t have B, and people with B who don’t have A. So perhaps there is a C that underlies all those A’s and B’s and causes them all?.

But I’m just a layman, and surely it can’t be as simple as it looks to me. Surely it’s the case—as the professionals tell us—that all of these diseases are multifarious and complex, and for some unknown reason, they all just—completely coincidentally, of course—happened to start bothering us around the same time. Surely the cause of all this couldn’t come down to a society-wide shift in diet. Could it? Surely the fact that all the chronic conditions seem to be related in some way to insulin-resistance and hyperinsulinaemia is just a complete and utter coincidence, right? Right?

(Bob M) #3

I think these people sometimes get blind to other possibilities. Once fat became the villain, LDL the villain, salt the villain,…they stop looking. They simply believe.

Now, I have no idea whether suPAR is actually causal, though the study is impressive. They use epi data, but then back it up with genetics and Mendelian randomization, and go even further by doing mouse studies.