I'm at the "This Sucks" stage

(Montrell Carter) #1

Well, I’m on day 22. Or 23. My mood isn’t great, I’m tired all the time, my workouts are crap and my whole body is sore most of the time. I take all of the electrolytes, I eat enough fat, I certainly drink enough water and so far at least, it’s netted me feeling pretty crappy and being a few pounds heavier. The weight doesn’t bother me; I didn’t start this diet for weight loss; I started it to deal with SIBO. Frankly, at this point I’m sticking with this out of stubborness. All of the studies that have been done on carnivore and SIBO indicate that it takes an average of 30 days of following the diet to eradicate the bacteria. I also told myself that I would give it at least 30 days when I started this. The biggest negative for me at this point is the soreness and mood affecting my training. I’m a pro crossfitter and pretty much since I started this, my training has been wildly inconsistent. Some days I’m ok. Others I feel like hell. I’m pretty tired of eating just meat, but to be fair, because of my training, my diet pre carnivore was pretty monotonous as well, so this isn’t an essential issue for me. Other than my training being affected I guess it boils down to: I’m not feeling ANY better. It’s not like I felt really bad in week 1 and feel a little better in weeks 2 and 3. In fact I would say the opposite is true. I felt good at first, and now every successive day is worse. I don’t think I really even have a question, I think I’m just venting at this point.

Venting is valid.

If you share what you’re eating, maybe some of the carnivores can make some suggestions?

I know many recommend that new carnivores shouldn’t start carnivore and train heavily during adaptation - but I don’t know whether that advice is only aimed at those who were previously sedentary, rather than those who already had an active workout schedule.

Congrats on time on plan so far :slight_smile: