I want MUSCLES! or more

(Christopher Proctor) #1

SO! The Elephant in my Gym… I am Keto… Therefore I cannot make GAINS like Joe Bob the Carb loader that packs in 5500 Calories everyday and 90% Carbs from grains. … True? Or False? I made great progress and put on some nice bulk when I was in a state of Fat Adaption back in my hay day of Keto but it wasn’t what I wanted and it was a constant struggle to find balance. I didn’t know if I should add more carbs from veggies in hopes to burn them before my body noticed the spike… or if maybe I should pound the protein on in the same hopes… I just couldn’t make any sure fire methods. Now that I am new to this journey AGAIN! I want to know if there are any heavy lifters out there like me that are successful (staying in ketosis) and making gains! I am tired of all the misinformation and I want to hear it from the mouth of the horse… is that a correct term? Lol!

Sorry, not a lifter so this might not be helpful, but - I can’t tell from your post - you were keto and then left it and are now coming back? For how long now? It takes a bit to get the fat/keto metabolism back up and running. In the long term you’ll be better off than Bob the Carb loader but I think you probably know that already.

There are serious gym folks on here so you’ll get more useful advice from others. Can you check out @KBDelight’s experiment? I think he found he made some nice gains on keto.

(Christopher Proctor) #3

Hi @Madeleine! Yes I am returning to the Keto world after what was essentially a nervous breakdown mid 2016. I put back on ALL the weight I lost and about 25 more pounds. I am in no way new to Ketogenics but I am new to this blogging thing lol. I am however foreign to the concept of maintaining balance in the gym and maintaining ketosis, when it comes to being a performance lifter. I will definitely take any direction I can be pointed in for help in this area, Thanks for your time!

(Ken) #4