I should be burning fat, right? Three questions

I’m still new at this and trying to better understand carbs, glucose, insulin, starvation mode, fat-burning, etc.

Background:

• I’m 5’2", 170 pounds, wanting to lose 30-40 pounds, female, 50 years old.
  • Desk job mostly, with brisk walking to/from meetings about 2 miles per day.
  • BMR ~ 1,475, RMR ~ 1,600.
  • Eating to satiety, approximately 1200 calories per day.
  • Two meals a day.
  • Not fat adapted.

Edited to add:

• Started 6/12/19
  • Lost 17 pounds so far

If I eat less than 15g total carbs (usually net 7-8g) each day, and getting the majority of the rest from fat:

1. I should be burning fat calories for the most part, correct?

2. What would stop that from being the case if I am strict about carb intake? Am I missing an important factor in this equation maybe?

3. And if I exercise, it’s best if I do so rIght before eating a meal (to keep the raised insulin “sessions” to a minimum), correct?

(Katie) #2

You could be insulin resistant. That would mean you have a higher than normal level of insulin. Remember, you cannot burn fat with an elevated insulin level.

You could have elevated levels of cortisol… means stress. How are you sleeping?

Finally, I would drop those carbs to below 10 net. Just to get started. Do not worry about calories…just eat enough.

See if you can move those two meals closer together in time. Remember, every time you eat your insulin level goes up. Try to keep the time of higher insulin each day down to a minimum.

As for exercise…if you would do it to lose weight…forget it. It doesn’t work. You would have to run 20 miles to burn of the calories from one small meal. Just doesn’t work. But, for better over all muscle tone and to help built bone density…yeah exercise. But it has nothing to do with weight loss in general (yeah, stressing the body will bring you into autophagy…but not really a consideration here)