I had bread! And cake! Ketosis still "medium" ? How to judge the strips

Hello!

Okay I’m new to keto, started a couple weeks ago – very strict about it. Stuck to 20 carbs per day (and if I went over it was on brussels sprouts or broccoli or a handful of blackberries).

Last night my friends threw me and my wife a fancy baby shower at a very nice restaurant. I had originally planned on avoiding all things carb and sticking to it, but when hot bread came around over a plate of mussels I was toast and had a couple slices. Even had a piece of cake and some fingerling potatoes. Didn’t feel so bad, a little bloated but it was a great meal.

This morning I expected to be totally thrown out of ketosis – but my numbers were still in the “moderate” 20-40 range and low hunger.

Am I misunderstanding how to judge the strips or what to take away from them? Or did my body just use up the carbs in last night’s meal quickly and continue back into ketosis?

Thanks!

(Teri) #2

A lot of people allow themselves a cheat day, and maintain ketosis, so it’s possible that you basically just had your cheat day. I don’t know how much to trust the urine strips. I use them, but they aren’t the best of course. A blood meter is the true way to go. But I’m too cheap right now to invest in one. But if you are showing ketones in your urine then you are still in ketosis. I’d test again this evening and tomorrow morning. I don’t know how fast your body processes/excretes excess ketones, which is what the urine strips test for, so it could just be left over ketones from before you ate the extra carbs. Idk. Maybe @juice can help you out on this one.

(squirrel-kissing paper tamer) #3

Could be that your body started using glucose for fuel so the free floating ketones you had got unused and peed out.

(Katie the Quiche Scoffing Stick Ninja ) #4

Uh huh :slight_smile:

Now is not the time to start cheating, or experimenting.