Husband is irritating me

(Will knit for bacon. ) #1

I’ve been doing keto for a few months now and I feel amazing. Husband has been supportive for the most part and is glad I feel so much better but refuses to give up junk himself. Fine, his choice, I’m not going to nag him.

But he’s been fussing at me because I don’t bake anymore. I’ve tried using keto sweets recipes but I’ve decided to give up because frankly they taste like crap and I’ve noticed that even fake sweets make me feel not so great afterwards.

I see no reason why I should cook things I’m not going to eat. He says I should take pity on the rest of them (meaning him and our adult daughter) and supply them with baked goods. I pointed out that I did not pop out of the womb knowing how to bake and he could learn like I did if he wants brownies. He says I complain when he uses the kitchen. I agree that I do, because he doesn’t clean up after himself. He says if I don’t want the kitchen messed up I should handle the baking myself.

Just. Grrr.

Am I being unreasonable by refusing to spend my time baking crap that I’m not going to eat? He has more free time than I do. But he’s also blowing our grocery budget every month making multiple trips to the store for chocolate and root beer and white sandwich bread.

(Jay Patten) #2

He can bake his own.

'Nuff said.

(Full Metal KETO AF) #3

You aren’t a slave and your husband and adult daughter aren’t children. Your position seems reasonable. You might even suggest that you aren’t willing to contribute to his unhealthy lifestyle since he’s doing a damn good job of that on his own. Make sure and get yourself some quality :cut_of_meat: just for you! :cowboy_hat_face:

(John) #4

I don’t expect my wife to cook for me, and I usually make my own keto meals (and clean up the kitchen). Sometimes she does cook for me, or for both of us, though, which I greatly appreciate and thank her for.