How to Eat Fruit & Stay in Ketosis (Allulose) - Thomas DeLauer

(Cat Onisko) #1

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vj2dUe9Gmr0

This just popped up on my YouTube home page. I’m fairly new to keto (8 weeks) so I don’t particularly want to do this experiment on myself just yet, but I’d be interested in anyone’s thoughts/experiences on this!

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #2

Much as I generally like Thomas DeLauer, I’ll also leave this experiment to him. I see no usefulness adding something you don’t need to eat so you can then eat some other stuff you don’t need to eat.

(Cat Onisko) #3

For me, it’s more about reeeaaaally missing fruit. I would much prefer a bowl of fruit over all the ketofied chocolatey desserts/cookies/cakes any day!

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #4

PS: I should add that I don’t think there’s such a thing as a ‘free lunch’. Without knowing anything more than what DeLauer says in the video, I would suspect that things are not quite as simple as he seems to think. There are likely hidden and/or unsuspected costs for this particular ‘free lunch’.

For example. Since ethanol and fructose follow the same energy pathways, would adding allulose to your bourbon enable to drink more without consequences? I think not.

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #5

You’ll get over it. If you stick with keto long enough your attitude will slowly change from the stuff you ‘gave up’ to the better stuff you gained in exchange. :sunglasses:

Interesting… But while I like not too scientific explanations, I would like a bit more here.