How to calculate macros

(Dylan Smith) #1

I’m new to keto and new to pretty much anything to do with healthy living in general.

As I start this journey I’m trying to do the techie thing and collect a bunch of data and build some reports/dashboards. And I’m trying to understand how to calculate macros.

When I read keto guidance it talks about having 5-10% carbs, 70% fat, etc. Regardless of what the recommended percentages are, I’m trying to figure out how to take my current food intake and calculate MY macro percentages.

My understanding is the %'s are a percent of daily calories. And you take the total grams of carbs/fat/protein, and adjust them so that 1g carb/protein = 4 calories, 1g fat = 9 calories. Then use that to calculate the macro %'s.

How does fiber come into play? When people say eat less than Xg of carbs to stay in ketosis, I’m pretty sure that is after subtracting grams of fiber. What about for the % of daily calories? Do I also subtract out fiber from that calc?

For example, lets say in a day I eat:
70g carbs (280 calories)
200g fat (1800 calories)
150g protein (600 calories)

That would work out to:
10% carbs
67% fat
22% protein

But what if there was 20g of fiber included in those 70g carbs? Does that change things?

(Robin) #2

Some people reduce total carbs by fiber. I think many (most, perhaps?) keep it simple and real. Just total carbs. It is actually incredibly easy to stay under 20 total carb grams, and the decision about what to use your allotted carbs on is very individual.

As we spend more time on keto, we learn to read the signals from our body. We start to love the foods that make our body happy. I believe it’s a fairly natural process as long as you stay under 20. Just start with the basics and don’t be in a rush to see results on the scale. Your scale can stall while you go down a size.

Just remember, time is on your side. You got this.

(Tim Cee) #3

I usually look at absolute values instead of percentages.