High performance protein shakes

(Mindy Rees) #1

I am new to all this and I hear so many different things. Is it ok to drink the high performance shakes while on keto? Will he make me gain instead of loose?

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #2

Read the label. Stay sub-20 grams net carbs per day. Don’t eat stuff with seed oils (aka vegetable oils). Be aware that some folks are sensitive to casein and/or whey. Coconut oil and MCT are OK for most, as is red palm oil and cacao butter.

As usual for this type of question, the answer is IFFYM (“If It Fits Your Macros”). It’s totally going to depend on what is in the “high performance protein shake”.

So – check the nutritional label.

Your net carbs will determine whether you are in ketosis or not. How much you eat (or drink, in this case) will determine whether you will gain or lose weight.

(Mindy Rees) #4

Ok. I am drinking one a day along with mct oil. Should I be drinking it in the morning?

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #5

Please link to whatever product you’re asking about so we can examine it properly. I can’t really say much knowing nothing about it. Some may disagree, but I don’t think it matters what you eat at various times of the day. I start every day with a liter of keto coffee, but during the warm weather I often think I’d better enjoy an ice cold keto coffee smoothy instead.

(FRANK) #6

Why not just eat real food?

(Mindy Rees) #7

I am to the point of no appetite right now so I figured this would help out.