High keytone levels, but feel great

(Rebecca) #1

Hi, I am a 54 year old female who is an active runner but am 30 pounds overweight. have been on the keto diet for a little over 2 weeks now, and I feel great, am never hungry, and have lost 7 - 8 pounds already. My concern is that according to my urinalysis ketone test strips, I am always at about 8 ketone, which is apparently not optimal and is too high. I am keeping my carbs at 30 grams, my fats at 108 grams, and my protein at 86 grams, which percentage wise is 8% carbs, 68% fats, and 24% protein, which was recommended to me because I am a runner. Should I increase my amount of carbs? Is this high level dangerous for me? I am not diabetic.

I appreciate any help I can get, as I am new to this!

(Cancer Fighting Ketovore :)) #2

You’re doing fine. Those ketone levels are more targeted for Type 1 Diabetics. High ketone levels along with high glucose levels are dangerous for them. Honestly, in the beginning most people switching over to a ketogenic diet will show high urine ketones. Unless you have medical conditions (like Type 1 Diabetes) or your doctor has said otherwise, you don’t need to stress about them.

(Full Metal KETO AF) #3