Help with basic nutrient chart

So I got involved in a discussion about diet elsewhere. Most people there are praising a low fat, high carb diet. I want to introduce them to the nutrient values of Keto, but I don’t know where to find an easy to copy, easy to understand chart of nutrients. These are total newbies, but smart folks. Can anyone help?

(Windmill Tilter) #2

I’m not sure what you mean by this. Are you talking about a macro nutrient chart (e.g. carb/protein/fat), or are you talking about some kind of “keto RDA” which encompasses dozens of micro nutrients, amino acids, lipids, etc? Or perhaps something else altogether?

I am trying to show them that you can get all the necessary nutrients from a keto diet. The opinion there is that you need to eat mostly veggies and some lean protein, along with grains, to get enough life supporting nutrients in the long run. I.e. vitamins, minerals and all the things that tend to be common knowledge. @Don_Q

(Windmill Tilter) #4

Gotcha. I would be interested to see that too.

(mole person) #5

This is actually something that I find funny these days. We are told that plants are filled with essential nutrients because otherwise it’s hard to see much point in eating them since they have a much crappier protein profile than meat.

Now it’s true, they do have some essential nutrients, but they don’t have any essential nutrients that are not also in meat sources. And, in fact, in many cases those nutrients in plants are in a far less bioavailable form and our bodies either have to use more energy to get them less efficiently or fail entirely to take them up at all because some other plant compound is binding to it.

Further, this binding effect can impact ones uptake of dietary nutrients regardless of the source. In other words, you can eat something like mussels that are high in zinc and have some grain with it and you won’t get hardly any of the zinc compared to if you had eaten the mussels alone.