Help stalled , 12weeks in

Alright guys I need some help I am female, 33 years old ,5’7", 168 lbs ,I’m a paramedic, my activity level varies . I started this keto diet 12 weeks ago where I was 192lbs and 30% bsi , and set out to lose 40 lb , everything was going great I lost 20 lb in 5 weeks… but now…nothing … I have plateaued , I haven’t changed anything , I have been eating 1490 calories (ket calculator)and staying 30 carbs or under. The past few weeks I have felt so hungry all the time,I’m satisfied for a few minutes and then within an hour or two I’m absolutely ravenous again, and the cravings…almost unbearable, like pregnancy cravings, you know have to have it or get irrationally depressed/upset …no I’m not pregnant ! it’s getting very frustrating I’m not sure what to do. Any ideas??

(Allie) #2

Eat. If you’re hungry your body is asking for more food.
It can’t do what you want it to do without the necessary fuel…

(Raj Seth) #3

1490 kCals seem low.
Follow these three basic Fung-isms
Eat when Hungry
Eat till satiety
Don’t eat when not hungry

These will help you reset your metabolism and let your body heal itself. Then it will continue to reset and relocate resources between fat muscles and organs as it has successfully done over millions of years of evolution

Oh yeah - eat fewer carbs and more fat! 30 carbs is high from my cheap :seat:. I target zero, probably average 10. And I do drink :tumbler_glass: liberally

Have you considered fasting?
There’s physiological evidence that it suppresses cravings.
And psychologically it does wonders for self-control.

Or, just eat more.
Load up on low carb/cal veggies. Try being hungry after eating a pound of broccoli. Or a head of cabbage. Or a giant bag of spinach.

(LeeAnn Brooks) #5

Dittto, ditto, ditto.

You’re not eating enough.

(Alec) #6