Help me understand, please

keto
calories

(Swift Machine) #1

I am new to Keto. I read so much about this subject and learn so much, but there so many conflicting views. I get it, no single diet is for everyone, and every diet has a “how it worked for me!” Success story.

But, why do so many people tell us not to count calories, or you don’t have to count calories?

This is how I view things:
Calories = energy
Body fat = stored energy
If you are eating to many calories, then you are storing it as body fat. No matter how you ingest them…

So the idea to me behind counting calories, is to make sure you are able to tap into your bodies stored energy and burn that…

What do you guys think?

There are a lot of people on here who count calories. If it works for you, go for it.

Personally I find counting calories tedious and unnecessary, and tracking them distracts me from my hunger and satiety signals. Keto generally works beautifully to re-align your hunger with your nourishment needs so tracking calories is often unnecessary, and in any case it’s a fairly crude tool that oversimplifies a very complex system.

But, again, many folks love that tool! Use it if you want to.

(Danielle) #3

My own understanding: Calories are different for everything you eat (100 calories of cookie has different nutritional value than 100 calories of broccoli). SOO counting calories doesn’t really “count”. If you really want to count something - count carbs. Some people count net carbs (carbs minus fiber); and some people count total carbs.

The end all - be all - do what works for you. If you are just getting started, count calories & net carbs. Then when you get used to that, switch to total carbs. Then when you get used to that, just total carbs. If at any point you find yourself not meeting your goals - re-evaluate your counting strategy.

This is really a “do what works best for you” situation.

(Swift Machine) #4