Heavy/Loud Heart Pump

(Benjamin Grew) #1

Hello, I have been doing keto, or at least low carb now for 6 months. I’ve had very good results and I feel very good most of the time. I’ve experienced the keto flu a couple of times (when I first started and when I have been knocked out of ketosis - my body seems to be carb dependent - for now) One thing I haven’t been able to fix is having a loud heart pump. It’s most noticeable when I go to bed, it’s so heavy it can often keep me awake. Has anyone had issues with this also? I’ve been to the doctors and everything was good. My resting heart rate is good. I do running as a sport, 3 - 4 sessions a week and I also train weights in the gym 2 times a week. I also have a physical job I do 3 days a week. Any help would be much appreciated so thanks in advance!

(squirrel-kissing paper tamer) #2

Are you taking supplements? I found I had this problem when I was supplementing with potassium in the beginning. I stopped and it also stopped. I was also probably not as hydrated as I should have been. Something to keep in mind. Best wishes figuring it out.

(Benjamin Grew) #3

Yes, I have an electrolyte drink that I use when I’m starting to feel a bit of the brain fog. I don’t supplement potassium but I was thinking of trying this as I read that a loud heart pump can be caused my low potassium levels. I do have bone broth daily and also essential amino acids.

Have u tried taking salt right after it starts with water ?

(Benjamin Grew) #5

I do use a fair bit of pink salt during the day on food and in my water. But I have not tried it directly like this no…

Ive only had this couple times and it was during adaptation phase, extra salt and water always fixed it for me, it should go away in 10-15mins if thats the cause of it. If u have stiff neck / headache it might be dehydration too.