Have only lost 2% BF since starting keto in February

(Derek Hebeler) #1

I have been doing Keto since February and have been doing a 16:8 daily intermittent fast since April. I eat around 2500 calories a day which is what a calorie calculator suggested due to my doing intense workouts 6 days a week. I eat around 190 g of fat, 130 g of protein, and less than 20 g of carbs a day.

Despite this, I have lost only 5 lbs and my body fat percentage has gone down only 2%. In 6 months. This is so discouraging. Are some people just not meant to lose weight? Any advice on how I can break this plateau?

(Eli) #2

What’s your starting weight/current and what kind of exercises are you doing?

(Derek Hebeler) #3

I started at 195 and am at 190 now. I have been doing the insanity workout for the past two months

(Eli) #4

Yeah seems like weird predicament. I’d say cut the exercise, less protein, stricter IF and eat at a calorie deficit for a week or two. Not too sure though, maybe wait for some other opinions more qualified then mine haha.

(Derek Hebeler) #5

Not too sure how much stricter I can get with the IF. I eat from 1:30-9:30pm every day. As far as protein goes, I have tried and cannot seem to get below 20% of my calories from protein no matter how much I try.

(Eli) #6

Try lowering your meals per day. I’m assuming your fitting 2 or 3 meals into those hours, try to reduce it by one. I’m on OMAD atm only five weeks in because I’m just not hungry during the day anymore. General rule is, if your not hungry, don’t eat haha. I would just really try for a week. Focus on the diet alone and reduce calories and try to get your MACROS on point.

(Derek Hebeler) #7

That’s the problem. I can’t seem to ever get my macros on point. Seems like nothing I eat will allow me to hit my macros without getting too much protein or not enough calories or too many calories lol

(Eli) #8