Going on a 10 days vacation, therefore quitting keto

(Yal La) #1

Hello,

I am new to this forum and to the keto diet. I must say I really love it so far. I feel like I am a keto and health expert with all the information I gained for the last few days about ketosis. I strictly eat keto for 3 days now while intermittent fasting (18-6 and 20-4) and apart from diarrhea I feel great and I love my energy, getting leaner and my meals which are delicious. I do want this diet to become my lifestyle which I will defenitely do.

As the title states, I am going on a trip in about 1 month from now. I am sure I can maintain my keto diet but I will not do so. I do want to enjoy icecreams, delicious foods at restaurants, easy sandwiches and so on for my holidays. So yes, I do want to have the keto lifestyle, but not on holidays when I go with family. I am not going to cook separately from my family and things like that.
Now I am wondering if I should quit keto already right now or is it alright to quit one week before im going on vacation for example? I do not want to be bloated or have the (ill) symptoms of quitting while on vacation.

I will go back to keto for a 100% after the trip, I love all the benefits and I am really happy to have discovered keto. It would seem obvious to already quit right now so I will surely not have any symptoms but I do want to get the most out of it. Personally I think if I keep eating keto for 2 or 3 more weeks I should be burning more fat instead of when I quit right now (not sure if my thinking is true though). I am aware that I will get this so called water weight back. How long will it take for the bloating and other symptoms to become normal once quitted keto? What are your personal experiences or thoughts?

To summarize my questions,
Should I quit keto already right now or is it alright to quit one week, two weeks or a few days before im going on vacation?