Glucose readings on zero carb

I’ve been eating zero carbs Feb 2022 and since Sept 2022 started higher fat carnivore. I’m trying to reverse pre diabetes. I had A1C of 6.2 then went down to 5.9. My most recent blood work was to 5.7. I track my fasting bs and post meals bs really closely. Since going higher fat, I found that my protein threshold is about 20ish gram per meal with lots of added fat. I feel best that way. And glucose doesn’t spike too often if the protein is portion out.
Lately I found that I have become more obsess with recording the glucose and would get frustrated if the numbers would spike to low 100s fasting and after meals. Given that now I’m already lowering protein portion per meal in order to help with spikes.
I don’t want to lower my daily protein intake any lower with fear of muscle loss. So the question is knowing that I’m already eating zero carb, should I just don’t stress too much with the higher readings? I know body goes through gluconeogenesis and only makes glucose when body needs it. Do I just continue and trust the process and my body?

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

Firstly, glucose is supposed to go up and down. It’s supposed to stay within a fairly narrow range, of course, but Dr. Paul Mason believes that the absolute level is not so important as avoiding large swings. If we could test insulin at home, you’d see the reason for that.

Second, if the error margin of your home meter is ± 20%, then a blood sugar of 90 and a blood sugar of 100 are essentially the same.

If you are carnivore and you’ve been doing it long enough that your glucose has started to rise again, one possibility (as Amber O’Hearn suggests) is that you aren’t eating enough fat to meet your body’s energy needs, so the liver is making more glucose in compensation. That is a possibility, though not the only possible explanation, I hasten to add.

(Joey) #3