Getting to know you

I think it would help the site retain more permanent posters if there was a more personality oriented section, not on the Keto topic but where people can tell about themselves and form more of a community of friends. There is a sense of community here - but it looks cliquish to newer posters. They don’t feel they can be a part. There can be a lot of innocuous threads in such a section. “introduce yourself” is a basic. “how was your day” tends to be popular. “what is your favorite xxx”. “things that made me smile”. “things that made me frown”. All kinds of non-keto, but personal threads that let people express themselves and tell about their lives. This brings posters, especially newbies, a lot closer to each other and tends to boost message board retention. (Yes, I have some experience in putting together and running message boards. No, I am not interested in doing so again, I retired from such work). As long as the rule “no politics” is carried out in such sections, they tend to be just a comfy place that makes people feel at home.

Just a suggestion to help with poster retention.

(Joey) #2

@velvet I like the idea a lot (!) … even though I wouldn’t likely participate much personally. I find the internet to be a place where feelings and privacy go to get damaged, so I refrain from revealing much about my personal life in the public square.

Having said that, if you’re inclined to participate in such exchanges, I think it’s a lovely idea for those individuals, and the addition of an area to do so would serve as another draw (not that keto facts and science aren’t exciting enough!).

My minor tweak to your suggestion would be that, in addition to ruling out “politics” (a wise idea), I would add “religion” and “sex” to the list. These also appear on the short list of topics that can make family gatherings so painful. :wink: