Gaining weight on carnivore

(Shaun Chadwick) #1

Evening all,
I’ve been doing the carnivore diet for 13 months now, mainly to clear up my serious eczema condition ( which it generally has)
However, I’m having trouble gaining weight. I’m 6”2” and 12 st. I was 13 1/2 st before I started. I eat 16 1/4 pound burgers each day, that’s 3900 calories, 311g protein and 300g fat. I also eat some fruit for electrolytes. I’m also allergic to dairy, even goat dairy. Also eggs.
Has anyone else had similar problems on carnivore or keto.
Thanks
Shaun

Simply not eating enough. If you were eating above maintenance, you’d be gaining. What’s you’re physical activity like? If you’re not gaining at 4k calories a day you have a pretty impressive metabolism. Be glad, it’s worse the other way around. If you’re not very active and burning through that much you ever had your thyroid checked? At your height, that weight at those calories that thing must be revved up pretty good.

(Shaun Chadwick) #3

Continuing the discussion from Gaining weight on carnivore:

Thanks,
Yes I’m quite active but have had a bad flair up recently and basically did nothing at all for a month over Christmas to try and heal but didn’t gain any weight, so definitely not burning 4000 calories a day.
Just got results from docs for a generic blood test but not sure if thyroid was covered.

It’s not that simple. Some of us has a pretty big maintenance range. Eating more just quicken our metabolism. There is a limit but it may be too hard to reach especially without carbs.