Food tolerance test says NO EGGS, NO DAIRY, ... struggling to stay on Keto

newbies
science
food

(karen) #1

Hi. I’m new to Keto and after the first psychic trauma of convincing myself that eating fat was really okay (after years of weight watchers, low fat diets, etc.), I was doing okay on a diet mostly involving eggs, bacon, avocado, salmon, butter, soft cheeses and dark green veg. On it for about 2 weeks, ketones and BS all over the place, but I’ve lost a couple of pounds, was feeling okay and getting better.

At the same time, I’ve long had autoimmune and stomach issues, and had made an appointment with a functional medicine doctor. She had me tested for “food sensitivities.” Last week, she showed me the results and concluded that I should not eat any eggs, dairy or peanut butter for a year, also, no shrimp and no almonds for 3 to 6 months. She also recommended a slightly higher carb, lower fat diet with mostly white meats and was not a fan of pork. So, like, NOTHING like the diet I was following.

I admit - I’m really thrown - figuring out what to eat has become hard. And I suddenly feel a drastic sense of deprivation, which I didn’t before. I finally found a system I thought I could follow relatively happily. But now, I’m just a total mess.

I have a lot of questions.

1. Can I actually get into ketosis on a diet that looks more like a Paleo diet but without the sweet potatoes? I guess I can ramp up the avocados, but I can’t figure out how to get significant amounts of healthy fat. I am not keen on taking spoonfuls of coconut oil (I want to just eat normally - this is meant to be a life-style change not a drastic diet), but maybe that’s what’s needed? Any ideas?

2. Are these tests really meaningful? Am I giving up all this stuff for nothing?

3. Is there an in-between, like maybe I eliminate this stuff for a few weeks and then reintroduce it?

4. What is the main component to reaching ketosis? Decreased carbs or increased fat or both?