Food to gently break a fast

Hi friends,

I’m on day four of a five day fast. The last time I did it, I broke it with a hard boiled egg and butter, and boy, was I sorry. I felt sick the whole day.

Can anyone recommend some good foods to gently break my fast that won’t kill my gut? I’m a teacher and will be at school when I take my first small meal, so I can’t afford to feel terrible.

Many thanks!

(Michelle) #2

i heard like a handful of nuts is good to break an extended fast.

(Mike W.) #3

16 ounce ribeye. Fast then feast! Repeat.

broths are good, puts the salts back in. I ate bacon after a fast and I was hurting all day, dumb thing to do. If you are still working toxins out maybe a few blueberries at a time, chew slowly and really well. Eggs are really gentle, maybe if you did a quiche without too much fat added, I have to really watch the load of fat at first and nibble on veg soup or something like that, really takes discipline for me, good luck on finding what works for you!

I followed some advice by @amber and tested breaking my fast with beef broth, followed by a bit of beef meat. I first had a cup of broth. I waited for about half hour and then ate some more beef broth with pieces of beef in it. It worked beautifully! I do a lot of multi day fasting, and a lot of experimentation with breaking fasts with different foods, and I must say, Amber was bang on. It was my best experience breaking the fast.

Amber’s reason for suggesting broth and beef was because this is a food that has the least (statistically) reputation for food sensitivities.

So, a good rule of thumb is when breaking your fast, avoid foods that tend to have a reputation for allergies or sensitivities (like eggs, cheese, nuts, etc…). Since your digestive system is cleaned out, any slight sensitivity you may have (which would be otherwise be masked or diluted by other foods in your gut) can be enhanced by multi fold.

(Jennifer) #6