Fish is not that filling?

(Bob M) #1

For Lent this year, I started taking fish for lunch. Today, I ate pieces of salmon and two pieces of mahi-mahi. I got them from Costco, frozen, individually wrapped. I defrosted them then used the sous vide, the salmon in one bag and the mahi-mahi in one bag, both with butter, salt, and pepper. I did not weigh them.

I ate these for lunch. I am starving, and have been starving for a while since eating them. What’s the deal?

Now, I did not weigh them, so maybe I under-ate. I normally have beef for lunch, and lately I’ve been weighing it. About 1 pound, typically. But, I’m totally full for many hours after eating beef.

Anyone have this issue with fish?

I may have to bring eggs to work, too, if I continue to be this hungry.

(Joey) #2

Although my wife eats fish on Fridays during lent, I’m not a member of that particular tribe. So, in candor I have no firsthand direct experience. But that never stops me from having at least 2 or 3 opinions…

There’s very little fat in fish. That’s why it’s a mainstay of “low fat” diets. It’s the fat that produces the satiety sensation. Adding butter was wise. Perhaps you should add a few sides next time… avocados, eggs, cheeses, etc.

Food for thought. :vulcan_salute:

(Anthony) #3

Yes. I love fish, but it is very light and even “fatty” fish is pretty lean. Not a stick to your ribs kinda meal. Definitely more butter, eggs, olives, etc

(Bob M) #4

Thanks, all. It looks as if I’ll have to bring eggs or more with me. Too bad, because this is a really easy meal, just some time in the sous vide, then cooling down.