First-Time Extended Faster!

I am doing my first extended fast! I am about 15 hours in to a 60-70 hour fast, depending on how I do! Any advise for a newbie? Warning signs that would suggest I need to stop? I am new to this, about 7 weeks into Keto and feeling pretty fat adapted. I’ve been intermittent fasting for the same 7 weeks, eating only from noon to 8 with an exception of the weekends where I eat breakfast and then fast until dinner. I normally am hungry by noon on days I fast until lunch, but habits die hard!

I think what I am doing is considered a fat fast, as I am having 1 tbsp of MCT in my mid-morning black coffee. I do plan to take electrolytes and introduce an Omega-3 supplement and good multi-vitamin, which I haven’t been taking before now. I also have a bunch of Himalayan salt. I think I am very insulin resistant, as weight loss has been very slow, to date. My fasting BG is on the high end @ 100 on average, but my ketone levels have been very consistent at 1.3-1.4! I would like to work toward doing 3-5 day fasts each week during the weekdays until I reach my goal weigh, and I have like 170 pounds to lose! Long road! Hoping that fasting will help me break through my metabolic and hormonal issues (PCOS, also!). Everyone here has been so helpful so far!

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

Serious hunger would be one. You’ll know if it’s serious or not. Feeling very cold might be another sign that it’s time to stop. Fasting is a skill that needs to be practiced, like exercising your muscles. Others will probably have more and better advice.

Prepare yourself for persistent hunger waves in hours 22-26, then 46-50 and again 70-74 because these comprise normally scheduled eating times. Push through these and you should do fine. Late in Days 3 and 4 things get easier.