Figuring macros...a thought for discussion

(Deb) #1

It just occurred to me that if we are using our CURRENT LBM, BMR, etc. to figure macros, wouldn’t that be for maintenance? Using our GOAL figures would be for fat loss.
Thoughts?

(Allie) #2

Makes sense in theory, but I’ve stopped tracking completely and am still slowly losing the stubborn bits. While I was still tracking (which I did religiously for two years) I was eating around 1800-2000 cals a day and still losing…

Did I eat more than 20g carbs? NOPE! Macro’s figured out! Eat awesome fatty foods until I’m not hungry anymore. Don’t complicate simple. With the exception of people who aren’t adapted yet and can’t trust their bodies, becoming a sugar burner style macro nazi only makes more work and changes this awesome WOE into a “diet”.

I get why people do it and have heard the “it’s the only way I can loose” but that’s not true (again, IF your adapted) your body knows what it’s doing, have some faith. I’m not a Doctor nor am I a professional at anything including my job. What I am is somebody that has eaten this way for the better part of a decade and helped many others do the same. I’ve yet to see anybody not get their results when they let their bodies call the shots.

(Deb) #4

As I got closer to goal, I have to be more specific. And there seems to be some who have trouble stalling and even gaining.

(Stickin' with mammoth) #5

For the record, some of us are super sensitive to protein and need to monitor it as closely as carbs. The world ain’t so simple through every set of eyes.

(Allie) #6

Yes I keep protein in check (after the two years tracking everything I have a good idea of quantities), but don’t bother counting calories at all. I did used to adhere to the calorie counting thing, but as time passes and I give myself more freedom, I’m seeing that they really don’t matter to my body…

(Sonia A.) #7