Feeding a crowd

(AnnaLeeThal) #1

I need inspiration. I’m hosting a Keto BBQ the beginning of June and we are doing the meat. My go-to is pulled pork shoulder, which I will probably do regardless, but I was hoping to do a second meat. Burgers and hotdogs feel boring to me right now.

Any favorite party meat favorites that wouldn’t be too expensive or labor intensive?

Chicken pieces, marinated in lemon juice, fresh thyme, garlic, salt and pepper. Simple, inexpensive and tasty.

(Ren) #3

I am an avid BBQ cook and compete in KCBS BBQ Competitions and also do some catering on the side. Here is a recipe for pulled chicken that goes well with pulled pork.

I use boneless/skinless chicken thighs (just because it is eaiser, but I do have a recipe for a whole chicken) Put on my sugar free rub. Put it on the grill for about 30 minutes. Take them off the grill and put into a pan with about 1/2 stick of butter for every 3lbs, and wrap the top of the pan with foil and put it back on the grill for another 30-45minutes.

Take off grill and the chicken will be super tender and moist and easy to pull apart or chop. I then add it back into the melted butter, and then add a little bit more of the sugar free rub, and add in sugar free bbq rub. Serve.

Another way to do pulled chicken but takes more work is to use a whole chicken. If you want that recipe, I can help you out with that.

(Eric Bryant) #4

I would love to hear more about this Sugar free rub…as my mouth is now watering…

(AnnaLeeThal) #5

Wow! That sounds amazing

(Ren) #6

I make my own rub that used honey powder in moderation, but since I started Keto a little more than a week ago, I made a batch with stevia powder. It is good, but not as good as with the honey powder. I need to get some other sweetners and experiment with it to find out what I like best.

4.0 tbs Honey Powder (can use stevia powder)
1.5 tbs kosher salt
1.5 tbs course ground pepper
0.5 tbs garlic powder
0.5 tbs onion powder
1.0 tbs dry mustard powder