Fasting and exercising

(Jennifer Patterson) #1

Hello
I am quite new to Keto. Fat adapted long distance runner.

Worked hard to get the balance right to suit my training schedule, I’m in the gym most days plus running every other day. Long runs Saturdays.

I have decided to try and do a series of fasts for lent and haven’t fasted and trained together before. Am currently 24 hours into my first fast (planned for 48 hours). I trained last night (run, weights, yoga) and feel great today. Tonight is my weekly kettle class. I will have breakfast tomorrow before my long run.

My question is do other people fast and train? Am I risking burning muscle? Should I just listen to my body and continue, stop if I can’t go on?!

Any advice appreciated!

Jen :+1::muscle:

(Allan L) #2

This summarises my approach. Sometimes exercising fasted is easier, sometimes it does not work for me. Depends on my body and I listen.

But maybe I should define fasted. I always exercise in the AM, about 18 hours after my last meal. Its the extended fasts I need to adjust at times.

(Rob) #3

I agree with @Allan on listening to your body.

I have done a number of workouts fasted and I feel as good as if not better than when I have eaten that day. I’m definitely building muscle and getting stronger and fitter. I would say that if you’re concerned, start out gently and work up to the point where you feel that you are genuinely pushing yourself on each workout.

(Michael ) #4

I train fasted daily. However, this is IF so usually only 16 to 18 hours fasted and i will usually eat within a few hours of training…usually.

During extended fasts, i have done cardio but avoided weights until the day I’m breaking fast to have protein available for muscle repair and building. I can’t say for sure that you shouldn’t do strength training during long fasts but I just assumed it would be a waste of time without protein.