Exhausted my daily protein, what fat to eat?

(Alex) #1

I’m new to keto. I have eaten my daily allotment of protein (just found out).
I only have fat left as I don’t want to eat carbs when I don’t have to.
Should I just eat a piece of grass fed butter or an avocado for dinner?
I usually eat between once or twice a day, more likely once because I am also doing IF.

(Allie) #2

Don’t stress about sticking to a certain amount of protein, just eat to your appetite. The only thing you need to count and keep low is carbs.

(Alex) #3

Thanks. Do I not need to eat more fat as I haven’t eaten enough fat today?

(Joey) #4

Are you hungry? If so, eat - just avoid those pesky carbs and you’ll do great.

(Alex) #5

Thanks, no I am not hungry. I just thought that I need to eat a minimum amount of fat everyday, I am new to keto or diets in general.

(Joey) #6

If you’re truly not hungry, then don’t force food down your throat.

Most folks approach controlling their eating patterns as a “diet” … which translates into putting an upper limit on their food consumption. Yet they’re hungry and want more.

In the case keto (carb restriction), you can essentially eat as much as you’re genuinely hungry for, and still get all the health benefits. But there’s no minimum amount of food you need to eat if you’re NOT hungry.

Sure, if you don’t get enough caloric intake, at some point your body will go into starvation mode - which slows down your metabolism and is counterproductive.

But if you’re really not hungry, then no, you are not starving. Trust your hunger signals and honor them without eating the carbs. There are plenty of other details to conquer if you want to fine tune things over time. But otherwise, it’s pretty much that simple.

:vulcan_salute:

(Allie) #7

No it’s fine. It’s not a macro you have to meet, just make sure carbs are low, and protein and fats are enough to keep hunger away. It’s that simple.