Exercise focus for total beginners?

(Victoria) #1

Apologies if this has been asked before - I couldn’t find anything similar enough!

So I’ve just started keto about a week ago and am a TOTAL beginner. My goals are, initially, totally weight loss focused and I want to boost my loss by exercising. I’ve just joined the gym but, as I kept fit with dance when I was younger, I have no idea what I need to be doing.

I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions of what to do at the gym? I’ll need to build up as my fitness level is very, very low and I weigh 192lbs at 5’2". I’m just at a total loss and the personal trainers at the gym are very unhelpful. I’m not fasting or anything, just trying to follow a ketogenic diet and not eat too much. Any suggestions are much appreciated!

First, a question: What do you think you would enjoy enough to keep doing?

(You don’t need exercise to be successful with keto.)

(Victoria) #3

Thanks for replying! I’ve never enjoyed any type of exercise since I was a teenager (when I did dancing) but I don’t loathe it!

There are some dance-y classes at the gym (zumba etc) which I plan on taking once my fitness level is up. I tried them a few weeks ago and I can’t manage more than 20 minutes so I’d like to up my stamina and such a bit before I go again as not being able to do the whole class definitely dampens my enjoyment. I just always feel lost when I go in the gym, there are so many machines and I never know if I need to be doing cardio, weight machines, free weights etc!

So, walk if you feel you need to? Get a handle on this way of eating first. You’ll find the urge to exercise, or not, later.

Meanwhile…Welcome! Congratulations on your commitment. You’ve found a friendly place. Never be shy about asking questions.

(Victoria) #5