Electrolytes and weight loss

Wondering if an electrolyte balance can inhibit weight loss. I don’t show signs of one, just curious

(Jay AM) #2

An electrolyte imbalance can do a lot of things. Like cause water retention which would stall weight loss based on a standard scale. I’m sure it can cause stalled everything.

(TJ Borden) #3

I’m still learning the science, but yes. It appears balance can affect a lot, and there have been recent topics specifically about the importance of potassium.

Also please know the importance of not too much potassium! After getting heart palpitations on a relatively small amount of potassium and then looking up the dangers of having too much, I now put in a warning whenever I see a note about taking it.

When supplementing with potassium, please do your research first and go slowly!

(TJ Borden) #5

I’ve seen those posts as well. I’ve been trying to figure out what the safe range is. On one side Dr Berg says you need 4700mg, but I’m wondering what the high end that starts to cause problems is.

Plus, without veggies (I’m mostly carnivore now), I know I’m getting very little. I have a canister of lite salt, but I don’t use it because of @Brenda’s warnings about taking too much. @atomicspacebunny posted some links and info talking about the importance of potassium and the role it plays, but I’m still trying to absorb the info. Most of it is over my head, but that doesn’t take much to do.

I’m sure it’s quite individual but I think that as long as you’re aware of the symptoms of taking too much (for me it was heart palpitations, though there are probably other warning signs) and err on the side of smaller doses, you’re probably good.