Electrolyte supplements on carnivore

(Edith) #1

I read this article someone posted on another thread.

It mentions not needing to supplement electrolytes when eating a meat only diet. On keto I have to supplement my electrolytes or I suffer from muscle cramps (not enough sodium), heart palpitations (not enough magnesium), and increasing resting heart rate (not enough potassium.)

So far, a week into a return to carnivore, I still get the same muscle cramp symptoms if I don’t supplement with enough salt. I’m too afraid to not supplement Mg, because I don’t want the heart palpitations to return.

How many of you carnivores still supplement electrolytes?

I haven’t been but that is recent based upon what I’ve been reading. I’ve been hoping Dr Berry or Dr Saladino would do a dive on this.

On keto, I regularly had homemade electrolyte drinks and salted everything.

(Tiffany ) #3

I am new to this but have concerns. I am already having muscle cramping and I’m only a week in.

That’s because many followers of keto are eating more fresh foods and not so many processed foods. Processed foods have all kinds of “supplements” (i.e. “fortified” or “enriched”) added to them. Especially sodium (a good preservative). Historically, sodium was a very valuable mineral, because people would die without it. It was even used for money (i.e. “…not worth his salt…” and the source of the word salary).

(Elizabeth ) #5

People usually find this happens if they’re not eating about 2 lb of meat a day.

I’m eating around 2+ lbs per day. I cut out adding salt, not sure when maybe week or 2 ago. Have been carnivore since early September. Mostly eating beef.
So far so good. I do run and exercise so very curious about this.

(Elizabeth ) #7