Eating on the bike

(The Gipp ) #1

I’m brand new to this keto thing. I’m an avid cyclist and was wondering what people eat on the bike because it seems that everything is nothing but carbs.

(Tom Seest) #2

With or without motor?:biking_man::biking_woman:t4::biking_man:

(Larry Lustig) #3

My own body fat.

(The Gipp ) #4

Pedaling

(Tom Seest) #5

Bacon jerky, almond butter, Adapt Bars, pork rinds…

(thefeatherdustersllc) #6

Ha!

Have you tried lettuce wraps?

(Steven Cook) #8

On rides up to roughly 100km/63miles I don’t need anything other than water/electrolyte. On longer rides of up to 200km/125 miles I’ll take some macadamias or “Babybel” cheese. Not because I feel in need of the enrgy to turn the pedals, rather my stomach just seems to feel “empty” after that amount of cycling.

(ianrobo) #9

I would say if you feel you need to eat on a ride even a 4-6 hour one then you are not fully fat adapted.

You do need electrolytes but so do carb burners and they often forget, I did in the past …

Oh and if you can afford it, get Vespa !

(Ritchie Linden) #10

I have started to carry squeeze packets of coconut butter and oil with me. Where the dificulty really lies is saying no to the the papette at the coffee shop after the second col. Nut I really like the idea of macadamias and babybel as I do get the hunger on a long ride.

(ianrobo) #11

If on real long rides then carbs not really a problem, I will use Jelly Babies for anything over 6 hours (got three planned).

Did a doctor recommend those? If so, Doctor Who? :laughing:

(ianrobo) #13

ha ha N=1 mate !!

For anyone that didn’t understand the reference, it was to Tom Baker playing Doctor Who on BBC; he always used to carry Jelly Babies. :wink:

(Sascha Heid) #15

Smoked pork-belly!
I love it.
You will love it.
It is heavenly.
OMG i want some now.

(Michael Wallace Ellwood) #16