Don’t trust Nutrition labels on internet recipes!

newbies

(Mary Dinkel) #1

I am fairly new to Keto and look forward to trying new recipes. I found one today for Coconut chocolate cupcakes which would yield 12 cupcakes and each about 3 net carbs. So, I followed the directions exactly using the brands recommended and they are delicious!
I then decided to enter the information into a recipe on My Fitness Pal. The net carbs came out to be more than 2x the published amount. I used MFP scanner to be sure I had the right ingredients. I’m glad I checked this so that I could cut down the portion by eating 1/2 cupcake instead of the whole cupcake.
The bigger issue for me is what to trust on the internet. I guess I’ll start entering the ingredients on MFP from now on just to be sure. You could be consuming hidden carbs without realizing it.

(Rob) #2

Good points but unfortunately, nutrition information is a moveable feast with different apps, sources and brands offering different results. MFP may be different to Cronometer, or LoseIt or the USDA. Brands can differ from each other or change over time (especially if called out for being wrong in the past). In most cases, people don’t weigh their food accurately and while recipes are the exception where most things are weighed, most food diaries are indicative rather than accurate.
In the end, super accurate nutrition calculation is a fools errand and likely to raise cortisol (stress) more than any errant carbs would impact your metabolism. I log everything I eat as well as I can but I don’t believe that the numbers are ‘to the gram’ accurate.
You should take your actual implementation’s carb count as best you can but I wouldn’t stress it - 20g vs 23g is probably not a problem except for the most carb sensitive.

(Mary Dinkel) #3