Cycling and energy

(John) #1

I used to ride a lot, I was a bike cop for a while and rode 20 miles or so a day, 5 days a week. Later I got into mountain biking and would go pretty hard for 5-8 miles, but basically nothing in 15 years.

So, after 3 knee surgeries now and it looking like a 4th one coming before long, I decided to start biking again as running is just too much. I got a MTB but am in nowhere near the shape I need for the big trails around here so I started by riding paved trails.
First ride was fasted other than BPC, I rode a section until I decided I was done and it ended up being 14 miles of pretty continuous pedaling with about a half mile of 90% effort hill. Was fine when I got home except very hungry, I ate about 500 calories of keto food, then dinner a few hours later. Really surprised that I never even got sore.
Next ride had a bit of elevation change but only one brutal hill about 1/4 mile long. BPC only prior to ride. This time I did 19 miles (tired of a MTB on paved surfaces at this point!) and felt great other than a feeling a little reminiscent of my hypoglycemia days before keto. Quite a bit more hungry this time, but after drinking a ton of electrolytes I ended up eating about the same as the previous ride. 500 cal extra for the day while the ride supposedly used up 1,200.
After a 2 day break I did the 3rd ride, same as the second but with eating 400 calories of pecans to see how it affected energy and hunger. Out of the gate I was really high energy, doing about 3 mph more on average than the second ride. At the halfway point I felt much more exhausted, and while I did each half of the ride in about the same amount of time on the second ride, this one was much slower and I lost all of the speed I had gained in the first half. Then 3 really odd things.