Constant Hunger in Adaptation

(Benny) #1

Hi guys, newbie here…
I’ve been on Keto for 10 days now eating 2500 calories per day from butter,eggs,
coconut oil,olive oil, grass fed beef,sardines,salmon,mackerel,avocado,cheese,
macadamia nuts,nutritional yeast,
b vitamins,magnesium,pink Himalayan salt,broccoli,spinach,kale,heavy cream…
I have absolutely no energy,feel lethargic yet constantly hungry, every 2 hrs I’m starving although I’m eating close to 200mg of fat each day!
This is really frustrating! I’ve no problems at all fasting while on a high carb diet while still having lots of get up and go so why do I crash so much now I’ve switched to fat?
I know it’s early days but I’ve no energy at all.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

You may need more protein, instead of more fat. Try it, and see if it helps with the hunger. Various recommendations are floating around, but try to get between 1.0 and 2.0 g/kg of lean body mass, and see if that satisfies your hunger. Fill in with fat—there’s no goal to reach, except satiety.

Part of the lethargy is inescapable. Now that you’ve cut off their glucose supply, your muscles are limping along on ketones. But if they aren’t being forced to burn glucose, what they really prefer is to burn fatty acids, and it’s been so long, they’ve forgotten how. So there are certain changes that need to take place at the cellular level (one of which is healing all those damaged mitochondria and producing new ones), and that just takes time. One of the ways you’ll know they’ve made the switch is when your energy returns.

Just hold on for a few more weeks. You’re doing fine.

(Benny) #3

Ok,I’ll try that.
The lethargy is something I’ve not experienced before even while eating junk food.
I thought that by eating all the fat I’d feel more than full yet i’m the opposite!
I also checked out a few links beforehand so got a few recommended foodstuffs in to try and combat the “Keto flu”
I’ll add more protein…Thanks for the reply :+1: